Golfers in the Travellers Championship should only need 72 holes to determine the winner of the 2021 Championship.

Instead, they needed 80 because Harris English and Kramer Hickok played eight sudden-death playoff holes to determine the winner.

The England team finally made a birdie putt on the 8th extra hole and won. This victory was his second victory of the year, making him the first PGA Tour player to win two championships in 2021.

The England-Hickok battle is historic because it is the second longest playoff game in PGA Tour history. This marks the first time since 2012 that an eight-hole play-off has occurred during the tournament.

more: Brooks Koepka is enjoying a feud with Bryson DeChambeau

The only event that lasted longer was the 11-hole playoffs in 1949, which ended in a tie due to darkness.

hole game result
11 1949 Motor City Open Cary Middlecoff and Lloyd Mangrum Bundle (Dark)
8 2021 Travellers Championship Harris English defeats Kramer Hickok
8 2012 Mayakoba Golf Classic John Hu beats Robert Allenby
8 1983 Phoenix Open Bob Gilder defeats three golfers
8 1981 Four Cities Open Dave Barr beats four golfers
8 1978 Greater Milwaukee Open Lee Elder defeats Litvino
8 1965 Cuckoo Open Invitational Dick Hart defeats Phil Rogers

Naturally, the audience found the long playoffs very exciting, and many people praised the performance of English and Hickok on Twitter.


Source link

Leave a Reply