Slovenian cyclist Tadej Pogacar made history a year ago when he became the second youngest champion of the Tour de France.

In 2022, he will make history again. At the age of 22, he became the youngest two-time champion in 108 years of history and the youngest two consecutive yellow jerseys.

Last year, Pogacar defeated fellow Slovenian Primoz Roglic by 59 seconds, winning the 10th closest match ever. As the world’s number one cyclist participating in the race, Rogridge had fallen many times earlier in the first week of the race, and finished the eighth stage of the race in 175th place. He chose not to continue the tour and decided to abandon the game.

The 2022 Tour de France is all a Pogacar race. He led the overall rankings and grabbed the yellow jersey in the eighth stage. He has won the 5th stage of the time trial, which is his first victory in three stages. When he rolled across the finish line, he ended the game with a lead of 5 minutes and 20 seconds.

In addition to the yellow jersey, Pogacar also won the polka dots and white jersey.

2022 Tour de France champion

  • Yellow: Tadje Pogkar
  • polka dot: Tadje Pogkar
  • green: Mark Cavendish
  • White: Tadje Pogkar

2022 Tour de France standings

position Cyclist (nationality) time
1. Tadej Pogacar (Slovenian) 82 hours, 56 minutes and 36 seconds
2. Jonas Vingegaard (Denmark) +00.05.20
3. Richard Carapas (Ecuador) +00.07.03
4. Ben O’Connor (Australia) +00.10.02
5. Wilco Kadman (Netherlands) +00.10.13

You can find the complete list of categories here.

2022 Tour de France stage champion

# date length stage winner
1 June 26 197.8 km (122.9 miles) Brest to Landnor (hills) Julian Alafilipe
2 June 27 183.5 km (114.0 miles) Perros-Guirec to Bretagne Guerledan (hills) Matthew van der Pol
3 June 28 182.9 km (113.6 miles) Lorient to Pontivy (plane) Tim Merrill
4 June 29 150.4 km (93.5 miles) Redon to Fougeres (flat) Mark Cavendish
5 June 30 27.2 km (16.9 miles) Change to Laval Espace Mayenne (Individual Time Trial) Tadje Pogkar
6 July 1 160.6 km (99.8 miles) Chateauroux Tour (Plane) Mark Cavendish
7 July 2 249.1 km (154.8 miles) Vierzon to Le Creusot (hills) Marty Moholic
8 July 3 150.8 km (93.7 miles) Oyonnax to Le Grand Bornand (mountain) Dylan Turns
9 July 4 144.9 km (90.0 miles) Trail of Tignes (mountain) Ben O’Connor
off day July 5 —— Tignes not applicable
10 July 6 190.7 km (118.5 miles) Albertville to Valence (plane) Mark Cavendish
11 July 7 198.9 km (123.6 miles) Sorgues to Malaucen (mountain) Walter Van Alt
12 July 8 159.4 km (99.0 miles) Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux to Nimes (flat) Niels Pollet
13 July 9 219.9 km (136.6 miles) Nimes to Carcassonne (plane) Mark Cavendish
14 July 10 183.7 km (114.1 miles) Carcassonne to Kiran (hills) Bock Molema
15 July 11 191.3 km (118.9 miles) Ceret to Andorra-La-Vielille (mountain) Sepp Kus
off day July 12 —— Andorra not applicable
16 July 13 169 km (105.0 miles) Pas De La Case to Saint-Gaudens (hills) Patrick Conrad
17 July 14 178.4 km (110.9 miles) Muret to Saint-Lary-Soulan Col Du Portet (mountain) Tadje Pogkar
18 July 15 129.7 km (80.6 miles) Pau to Luz Ardiden (mountain) Tadje Pogkar
19 July 16 207 kilometers (128.6 miles) Mourenx to Libourne (flat) Majee Moholic
20 July 17 30.8 km (19.1 miles) Libourne to Saint-Emilion (individual time trial) Walter Van Alt
twenty one July 18 108.4 km (67.4 miles) Chatou to the Champs Elysées in Paris (flat) Walter Van Alt

Who is the youngest Tour de France champion?

Pogacar made its debut in the Tour de France in 2020 and became the second youngest cyclist to win the event at the age of 21.

The youngest is French cyclist Henri Cornet (Henri Cornet), who won the Tour de France in 1904 and was only 19 years old. After changing the scoring system to a points system the following year instead of a time-based system, Connet never won the championship again, although it was changed back to time-based scoring in 1912.

Back to Back Tour Winner

Several cyclists have won the Tour de France for several consecutive seasons. Excluding those who lost the victory—sorry, Lance Armstrong—13 cyclists have won the race at least two consecutive years.

Lucien Petit-Breton won twice in 1907 and 1908, and was the first person to win twice in a row.

If Pogacar competes next year, he will be the only driver to win three consecutive seasons along with Louison Bobet, Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Miguel Indurain and Chris Froome. Indurain has won the competition for five consecutive years from 1991-95. Anquetil (1961-64) and Merckx (1969-72) tied for the second-longest winning streak with four consecutive victories.

Most Tour de France is won by the rider

The four riders tied for the most common category victory in a cycling career. Anquetil, Merckx, Indurain and Bernard Hinault each won the Tour de France five times. Froome won four championships, and Bobert, Philip Tis and Greg Lemmon won three games each.

Pogacar has won two victories at such a young age, and he will have enough time to join this elite company. The oldest cyclist in history is Firmin Lambert, who participated in the Tour de France in 1922 at the age of 36. Pogacar is 14 years younger than Lambot and has won two victories.

Most stages of the Tour de France are won by the rider

Mark Cavendish made history in the 2022 Tour de France. He won the 13th stage, which put him tied with Merckx for 34 championships. He won four stage titles in this year’s Tour de France.

He almost broke the record with a strong ending on the Champs Elysées, but Wout van Aert won the third stage of the tour in the final sprint.


Source link

Leave a Reply